Skip to content

The Opposite of Empty Nest Syndrome

July 12, 2010

I’ve moved out. Regular readers may want to read that again. I have moved out. Those of you who’ve followed this blog for a while will know that attempts to move out have been ongoing for about a year. Let me repeat: I have moved out.

I am now living happily in Birmingham, near to my place of work and far away from anything remotely like a village. Thank God. It feels great. But also, it feels terrifying.

I’m 23, and this isn’t the first time I’ve lived by myself, but moving out still has a feeling of abandonment. It doesn’t seem to matter to my subconscious that every part of this process has been my choice. As my parents drove me to Acocks Green (for that is the area I now live in) I had a deep, surprising discomfort. I was about to become a completely self directing agent. Realising that all the possibilities in the world where now open to me, including the possibility of failure, made me anxious. If this goes wrong, I’ve done it wrong. No-one else. I have responsibility for my life.

Isn’t that terrifying? Isn’t that exhilarating?

I realise of course that I’ve always had the responsibility. But it’s harder to hide from when you don’t have a parent figure in the picture.

Hopefully, all the free time I now have (shorter commute ftw) means that I will get more knitting done. Currently on the needles are:

A felted shibori scarf using Rowan Colourscape Chunky:Knitted Shibori Scarf in progress

A lace scarf using Manos del Uruguay DK:

Manos Del Uruguay Lace Scarf In Progress

This wool, probably:

Indiecita wool for fair-isle

This is some lovely wool brought for me by my friend Andy. He went to Peru and bought me some DK baby alpaca. Attention other friends: YOU JUST GOT MOVED DOWN THE LIST. Whilst there he managed to seriously injure his spine and almost ended up paralysed. Whilst the injury wasn’t *directly* related to the yarn shopping, the effort was appreciated. I’m very glad that he is walking again and no longer doing stupid extreme sports on the other side of the planet.

But what to do with it? I want to do some fair-isle, but I haven’t decided what yet. The upcoming Rowan magazine looks MAGNIFICENT, so I want to make sure my colour work is perfect before I crack into it. Cream and scarlet aren’t inspiring me though. Suggestions for interesting motifs in the comments please.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 3:08 pm

    tribal patterns are really in right now….

  2. Ven permalink
    July 22, 2010 2:30 pm

    Welcome to Brum! Hope everything turns out well for you. One unfortunate side to the city is that the good knitting shops are few and far between but the internet is a godsend (or pathway to financial ruin, depending on your spending habits). I have never attempted colourwork as I don’t have the patience but strandedcolorwork.blogspot.com might have some ideas for you-I like the little skulls and the squirrel mittens.

    • July 22, 2010 2:55 pm

      Skulls and squirrels are so right for me! I’m really impressed by the quality of work on there. Thanks, Ven. It looks like a great resource.

      Rachel, tribal patterns *are* in, but I suspect they would be the devil to chart. I think I’m going to have to have a play around…

      • Ven permalink
        July 22, 2010 5:36 pm

        Glad to be of service. Post a picture of the shibori scarf when it’s done, it’s looking very promising!

Leave a Reply

