Skip to content

Christmas Knitting And The Escape From Middle England

October 20, 2009
Aaaaand exhale! After a very exciting few weeks for myself, I’m back at work and getting ready for a busy couple of months. I’m moveing to Inverness in four, count them, four weeks. Which means I’m quitting my job at the building site. Which means I can spend more time doing wonderful things.
I’ve already plotted out my knitting schedule for the next four months. On it are fifteen items, eleven of which come with a built in deadline. The lace-scarf for Lucy is the first I’m attacking, and I’ve given myself until Saturday night to finish it. I knitted for an hour on the way into work, and there are four more hours of travelling into work before the weekend. Sadly, my ride home is in complete darkeness so lace knitting isn’t really an option for me. Hopefully I should have finished most of the scarf before Saturday and I won’t have to do any rushing. I much prefer savouring the knitting, but deadlines are deadlines.
I also need to finish my knitted graffiti piece before I leave Ashby. It’s important to me that it goes out onto the street where the abuse happened. The project wouldn’t have that lovely reek of psychogeographical warfare if I put it somewhere else. My knitting posse (formerly known as “Knit Me Baby One More Time” but now rebranded as “Stitches Ain’t Shit But Hoes and Tricks” in a nod to Ben Folds’ Five’s nod to Dr. Dre) will be meeting a week from now to knit more grass, crochet more pansies and applique more HOMOSEXUALIST ANGST!
Then, the long promised Parasite Octopus bag will get a week to itself before I begin the crazy weeks of Christmas knitting. So many fol-de-rols to make. RSI has never seemed so exciting! I’ve decided to make Saturdays my photo day, just because routine makes me feel sexy, so you can expect photos of a FINISHED *coughcough* scarf this weekend.
Does anyone have any tips for long distance knitting? Other than arm stretches and Deep Heat that is? Am I the only one bricking it about the Christmas knit-a-thon that’s looming?
PS. Anyone who followed the link in my last post through to the free Pansy pattern, I apologise. I’ve been informed there is a mistake in there. I couldn’t understand it, leastaways, and I spent a good hour struggling to make it make sense. A quick google search suggests I’m not the only one whose mind wasn’t up to the task. However, as retribution and replacement, I present the far more comprehensible  _crocheted pansy_. I’ve made two so far, and they are darling.

Aaaaand exhale! After a very exciting few weeks for myself, I’m back at work and getting ready for a busy couple of months. I’m moveing to Inverness in four, count them, four weeks. Which means I’m quitting my job at the building site. Which means I can spend more time doing wonderful things.

I’ve already plotted out my knitting schedule for the next four months. On it are fifteen items, eleven of which come with a built in deadline. The lace-scarf for Lucy is the first I’m attacking, and I’ve given myself until Saturday night to finish it. I knitted for an hour on the way into work, and there are four more hours of travelling into work before the weekend. Sadly, my ride home is in complete darkness so lace knitting isn’t really an option for me. Hopefully I should have finished most of the scarf before Saturday and I won’t have to do any rushing. I much prefer savouring the knitting, but deadlines are deadlines.

I also need to finish my knitted graffiti piece before I leave Ashby. It’s important to me that it goes out onto the street where the abuse happened. The project wouldn’t have that lovely reek of psychogeographical warfare if I put it somewhere else. My knitting posse (formerly known as “Knit Me Baby One More Time” but now rebranded as “Stitches Ain’t Shit But Hoes and Tricks” in a nod to Ben Folds’ Five’s nod to Dr. Dre) will be meeting a week from now to knit more grass, crochet more pansies and applique more HOMOSEXUALIST ANGST!

Then, the long promised Parasite Octopus bag will get a week to itself before I begin the crazy weeks of Christmas knitting. So many fol-de-rols to make. RSI has never seemed so exciting! I’ve decided to make Saturdays my photo day, just because routine makes me feel sexy, so you can expect photos of a FINISHED *coughcough* scarf this weekend.

Does anyone have any tips for long distance knitting? Other than arm stretches and Deep Heat that is? Am I the only one bricking it about the Christmas knit-a-thon that’s looming?

PS. Anyone who followed the link in my last post through to the free Pansy pattern, I apologise. I’ve been informed there is a mistake in there. I couldn’t understand it, leastaways, and I spent a good hour struggling to make it make sense. A quick google search suggests I’m not the only one whose mind wasn’t up to the task. However, as retribution and replacement, I present the far more comprehensible crocheted pansy. I’ve made two so far, and they are darling.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 2:44 am

    I hope you post a photo of your knitted graffiti when it’s in place. We should all put it on stumbleupon and other social bookmarking sites so it gets a LOT of attention.

    • October 20, 2009 9:27 am

      Oh don’t worry, photos are a certainty. I’m too vauntful a person not too put up pictures! But that’s not a bad idea about SU. Thanks very much, I certainly will.

    • October 20, 2009 9:28 am

      And your blog is *beautiful* by the way.

  2. SJAT permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:25 am

    Oh Inverness is such a fab place. You lucky knitter, you!

  3. October 21, 2009 1:59 pm

    I can’t wait to see your knitted graffiti. I planted a pansy yesterday at a dear friend’s work site. He is the constant brunt of their abuse. He says it’s nice knowing that the pansy is there. That it makes him feel stronger knowing that no matter where he is, he has allies. So thank you so much for the link! You’re incredible!

  4. Dwynwen permalink
    October 22, 2009 10:34 am

    Hope your move to Inverness goes well. A quick tip for knitting in the dark on your commute. Go to Millets and get a head torch it’ll keep your hands free and direct the light where you are looking. If you have a small head you can get the kids one for less than a fiver.

Leave a Reply

