Skip to content

Photo-palooza!

October 8, 2009
Today is PHOTO DAY!!!!!! First off, here is the rust red shawl I’ve been wittering on about.
I still love the colour. The photo suggests an orange wool, but please believe me that the colour *is* as complex and mysterious as I suggested in previous posts. Also, I think it does good things for my eyes. Opinions?
Secondly, here is one of the skeins I bought from iKnit. It is TOO BEAUTIFUL. I’ve had to learn how to unwind a skein (very easy) and then rewind it into a knittable ball (harder).
The colours don’t really translate, but it’s got a fleshy tone to it. The same colour as freshly cut birch wood (not the bark, the actual  wood), but mixed with subtle browns and greens. Very beautiful indeeed.
And finally, for today anyway, here is the scarf I’ve started knitting the wool into.
Knitting with this wool is wonderful. Because I messed up the cast on and set-up row about a thousand times, the wool has bobbled very, very slightly. But I’ve got the hang of the pattern now. I originally cast on with 5mm needles and two panels of the lace pattern, but about 6 repeats in (I’m quite indecisive sometimes) I decided that a wider, looser shawl would feel more protective and intimate for the wearer. Skinny scarves never really strike me as sensuous items. This wool *demands* the sensual.
Went walking in the woods yesterday, took off my shoes and enjoyed the cold grass and fallen leaves. It got dark and sinister, and the sounds of foxes and owls where, well, suggestive. Am I the only 22 year old who’s still a little afraid of the dark?
However, bare-feet means I’m feeling POETIC! The journal was taken out and poems were written at dusk. All very gothic. I love it. Halloween-tide really *is* the best time of the year.

Today is PHOTO DAY!!!!!! First off, here is the rust red shawl I’ve been wittering on about.Boneyard

I still love the colour. The photo suggests an orange wool, but please believe me that the colour *is* as complex and mysterious as I suggested in previous posts. Also, I think it does good things for my eyes. Opinions?

Secondly, here is one of the two skeins I bought from iKnit. It is TOO BEAUTIFUL. I’ve had to learn how to unwind a skein (very easy) and then rewind it into a knittable ball (harder). Modelling the skein is my old, distressingly scented cat, Fudge.

My cat ignores the game of wool buckaroo that's about to begin.

My cat ignores the game of wool buckaroo that's about to begin.

The colours don’t really translate, but it’s got a fleshy tone to it. The same colour as freshly cut birch wood (not the bark, the actual  wood), but mixed with subtle browns and greens. Very beautiful indeeed.

And finally, for today anyway, here is the scarf I’ve started knitting the wool into.

My cat ignores all the wool related abuse I give it.

My cat ignores all the wool related abuse I give it.

Knitting with this wool is wonderful. Because I messed up the cast on and set-up row about a thousand times, the wool has bobbled very, very slightly. But I’ve got the hang of the pattern now. I originally cast on with 5mm needles and two panels of the lace pattern, but about 6 repeats in (I’m quite indecisive sometimes) I decided that a wider, looser shawl would feel more protective and intimate for the wearer. Skinny scarves never really strike me as sensuous items. This wool *demands* the sensual. The pattern is “Travelling Leaf Lace” from the Barbara G. Walker’s beautiful stitchionary.

Went walking in the woods yesterday, took off my shoes and enjoyed the cold grass and fallen leaves. It got dark and sinister, and the sounds of foxes and owls where, well, suggestive. Am I the only 22 year old who’s still a little afraid of the dark?

However, bare-feet means I’m feeling POETIC! The journal was taken out and poems were written at dusk. All very gothic. I love it. Halloween-tide really *is* the best time of the year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 7:19 pm

    Hi Benjamin,

    Caught your comments at Si’s so I thought I’d drop in and poke around. Like your knittings very much! That woodsy ombre wool is lovely. ~LA

    • October 9, 2009 8:49 am

      Thank you! The wool is lovely, and apparently it’s made by collectives of poor women across uruguay. So there’s a whole female/fairtrade empowerment thing going on too. I’ll admit, the colour was what made me want the wool. But the marketing spiel about grassroots-communes and what-not was what alleviated the buyer’s guilt. £15 for a ball of wool! Mon dieu!

  2. October 9, 2009 1:25 am

    that birch wood colored wool is so beautiful! i’ll look for you on ravelry – and thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • October 9, 2009 8:51 am

      On ravelry I’m octopusandtherose, and your welcome! It was a lovely blog to drop into!

Trackbacks

  1. Knitting Spirituality « The Octopus and The Rose

Leave a Reply

