Skip to content

A Short Post About Alchohol Poisoning, Lost Knitwear, and Sinister Cephalopods

September 29, 2009

I finished the shawl! But then I had a week away in London and there were, well, developments. I drank an awful lot, developed what I’m pretty sure was alcohol poisoning, and lost the scarf when I passed out. Luckily, someone found it once I’d made my way back home and they’ll be bringing it back up to me when they come back to Ashby.

So the good news is that the shawl is finished and beautiful (I still had far too much wool left over once it got to neckerchief size, I’m fairly sure it was a 4-ply) but the bad news is that there are no photos for anyone to look at.

I’ve started thinking about publishing some of my patterns, through here, Ravelry and Etsy. I’ve started work on a collection of H.P. Lovecraft inspired knits, I’ll give you more details as the designs develop. My current UFO is a prototype backpack in the shape of an octopus. Very sinister. If all goes well it should look like it’s drinking spinal fluid from the wearer.

Whilst in London I went into iKnit. Big mistake. So much beautiful wool. I spent £70 on wool and two stitch-dictionaries. Don’t judge me it, they where necessary purchases. Pictures of all the above soon, soon I promise!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nectaryne permalink
    October 10, 2009 8:39 pm

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the Lovecraft knitting.

    • October 11, 2009 9:37 am

      Thanks! I’ve cast the prototype octopus bag on now, so it shouldn’t be long till the first design is up!

  2. March 16, 2010 7:22 pm

    Hi Ben,

    there’s no need to excuse expenses on wool / needles / beads. They’re just as neccessary as bread and coffee or tea if you like.

    Love your octopus!

Leave a Reply

